Sabino Canyon

A little taste of Sabino Canyon (Photo cred: Michael Gelb)

Recently, my travels brought me to Sabino Canyon.  Sabino Canyon is one of my favorite places near Tucson to hike in.  It’s a lot closer than the past two hiking destinations I have been (Parker Canyon Lake and Patagonia Lake).  So, if you want to hike but don’t want to drive over an hour outside of the campus area, Sabino Canyon is right up your alley (or should I say canyon, hey oh).

Sabino Canyon is a great hike and a popular hiking spot for many Tucsonans.  There is a solid paved pathway that many people walk, run and even ride bikes on.  Every time I see a person double my age, running past me I feel a little bad about myself, but hey, I’ll march to the beat of my own drum.

For those who have never ventured off into Sabino Canyon, it is absolutely beautiful.  There are many different trails you can take, that will lead you to different destinations.  In our hike, we walked up the paved pathway for about 2 miles.  

We then got off the path and went to more of an “all-terrain” hike, which is how you have to hike in my book.  My friend knew of a place where we could do some cliff jumps, so we followed her along the creek.  It was nice to go along the creek because of the long walk on the paved boring pathway.  

After sometime walking along, in and out of the creek, we arrived at the cliff spot.  I was a little hesitant at first because of the height and

Me getting some air in Sabino Canyon (Photo cred: Dana Becker)

the amount of water in the pool, but the water was deep enough for the jump.  The water felt amazing after a sweaty hike.  The cliff jumps were so much fun, I cannot wait to go back.

If any of you readers plan on hiking here in Arizona, I would recommend going early in the morning to avoid the blazing heat here in the desert.  Also, bring lots of water and even a little snack if you want.  It’s better to be over prepared than under prepared!  Now, get out there and have an adventure!

Here are some more photos from our Sabino Canyon hike.  Photo cred: Michael Gelb

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

