“The Window”

One of the best sunsets I have ever seen.

This past weekend, myself and some good friends went to Gates Pass here in Tucson, AZ.  I’m going to get this out of the way in the beginning: if you live in Tucson and have never seen a sunset at Gates Pass, you my friend, are missing out on something special.

Arizona, and the Southwest in general, are known for their beautiful sunsets that paint the sky with shades of pink, purple, orange, and blue.  We got to Gates Pass at a perfect time, when the sun just began to set, but there was enough light for us to climb up to our spot.  We climbed the side of this peak for about 10 minutes.  This was only my second time being to Gates Pass, so I personally, had no idea where we were going.

My attempt at capturing a "facebook profile picture" moment haha.

But, the climb was definitely worth it!  On top of this peak, there was a bench made out of stone that was perfect for us.  The bench made me feel like we had a front row ticket to the sunset.  The sunsets here in Arizona make me feel like I’m looking a painting.  A painting that is being created and changed by the second with different shapes and colors.  It was a very surreal feeling seeing this beautiful sunset unveil itself to us.

The climb down was a little more difficult.  It was darker, so we didn’t quite follow the trail back down.  It was a steeper route, but we made it back to the car!

Colors sprayed the sky as the clouds began to reshape themselves.

Honestly, I’m begging you to go to Gates Pass for a sunset and check it out.  If you haven’t gone you truly are missing out on something you won’t see in many other places in the WORLD!  I know I’m going back before I graduate the U of A in December.  So, I hope to see you all there!

p.s.

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!

Leave a Reply

